2015 WIP

Hexagon Quilt

A couple of years ago I made my girlfriend a black and white hexagon quilt for her wedding present. I had a stack of leftover hexies that were sitting in my stash and I had no idea what to do with.

Then earlier this year I went on a quilting retreat so I took them with me, still with no idea what I was going to make with them. Then I had an idea to put some together and make some different size blocks.

Then someone suggested I remove one hexagon and add in a plain colour, the only colour I had with me was aqua. So in it went. I was planning on putting on a charcoal background but had all sorts of troubles finding just the right colour. But found a perfect wavy aqua.

I also did oversized borders as I wanted the quilt to be queen sized. With the borders being so big it was nice and quick finishing the top. Then I got Kelly at The Quilt Machine to quilt it for me. This is a close up of the quilting.

I just love it and Kelly did an awesome job. Thanks Kelly. I am still yet to bind the quilt but I will get that done over this raining Easter weekend.

I’m looking for a great name for this quilt, so if you have any ideas please let me know.

Keep on quilting.

Nerida ⏰✂️

Leave a Reply

